Online Shop closed until further notice

Due to the Covid-19 (Coronavirus) outbreak in the UK we have taken the decision to temporally close our online shop effective immediately, 30th March 2020. Until now our shop has remained available, but the orders we have been receiving have been significantly lower than normal.

While we are just a small, home business between myself and my fiancé, we have decided to take this decision now in the hope that we can help to remove some of the unnecessary work put into the postal service here in the UK and around the world.

We hope to resume normal service as soon as possible when the situation begins to return to normal. We hope all our customers, both old and new remain safe in this worrying time.

Shop Price Increase
From 6th April 2020 prices in the shop will increase slightly, this is due to production costs and card processing fees increasing.
Lindt Recall Easter Eggs Due To Undeclared Barley

Lindt Recall Easter Eggs Due To Undeclared Barley

Product recalls are the worst, if you love Lindt products, only very few are gluten free and now even some of those have been recalled due to undeclared barley.

Posted On: 17th March 2017
Tagged with: Barley, Chocolate, Easter, Lindt, Product Recalls

Back to Blog list
Another day another recall. Well this was was actually a few days ago, we mentioned it on our Facebook page but thought we should write a quick blog about it too.

A couple days ago Lindt recalled two Easter eggs due to barley not being listed on the ingredients.

According to Coeliac UK, many Lindt products are not suitable for Coeliacs due to barley in the ingredients, however, there are some that are listed as fine on Coeliac UK, despite being made on the same production line and in the same factory, so therefore a cross contamination risk. Lindt Excellence Chocolate and Lindor Strawberries and Cream are two of those products that don't contain barley, however it is the Easter Egg counterparts of these products which have been recalled due to unlisted Barley.

According to Hinckley Times Lindt have stated that the products in question are not a risk to Coeliacs, however Coeliac UK have listed the products on their own recall list. Since there seems to be some conflict of info there, we'd say it isn't worth the risk of eating it, especially if you are really sensitive!

If you have either of the following products it is advised that you return them to point of sale for a refund.

Lindt Excellence Dark Chocolate Extra Fine Shell Egg
Best Before October 2017, Batch Number LS7018

Lindor Strawberry and Cream Shell Egg
Best Before July 2017, Batch Number L6334

According to Lindt's FAQ for gluten on their website:- "When barley malt extract is the only gluten-containing cereal ingredient in the ingredient list, then the gluten level is below 20 mg/kg (which is "gluten-free" according to EU regulations and Codex Alimentarius)." Their website also advises that products that don't contain barley or wheat as an allergen are made on the same production line so there is no guarantee that any of their other products are totally free from gluten.

Coeliac UK do list some of their regular products as safe, but use your own discretion to decide if you are willing to eat them based on Lindt's cross contamination declaration on their website.

For other easter eggs that are gluten free according to their product info and/or Coeliac UK (Our own list doesn't list any that have may contain warnings),see our blog.

Your Comments

There's no comments on this Blog, why not leave one?

Submit a Comment

Want to leave a comment on this Blog? Feel free to join the discussion!

Search Blogs

Looking for something specific? Search our blogs using the form below.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Enter your email address below to get our fortnightly newsletter sent straight to our inbox!